Giving Thanks

DSC_0075

Thanksgiving…a time for reflection, harvest and giving thanks. Thanks for the mother who gave me life, the father who believed in me without question, the brother and sister who taught me to share and fight fair. Thanks to my husband who continues to grow with me and my son and daughter who never cease to amaze me with their capacity to learn and love. Thanks to my friends and family who enrich my life with every passing day.

We shared our thanksgiving dinner this year with family and friends here in Cochrane. There were over 30 adults and 10 children. Food was a cooperative effort with my contribution being the “carbs”. Thanks to Stephanie for her sweet potato casserole recipe, it was a huge hit which earned me hugs and kudos. Thanks to Tom for his scalloped potato recipe which I will now call my own, lol. Turkey and ham and salads and carrots and cauliflower added to this wonderful harvest we shared. Pumpkin pie, apple pie, apple crisp and a lovely bottle of tawny port (thanks Lukas for the port) finished our meal. Some people fell asleep, some did the dishes and others just sat around contentedly sharing tales and laughter.

Thank you for reading my blog ramblings and for your comments.   It is my connection to the world back  in Ontario.

7 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. Hi there………….miss you……….sounds like an amazing time. Get your _____ back here………..Ok!

  2. Sounds like you guys had a wonderful Thanksgiving. Must get those two recipes from you and call them mine LOL. I think it is my favourite holiday of the year! Cheers Reen

Leave a comment