Debra Mountain House

DSC_0161[2]

Can you imagine everywhere you look your name is written larger than life? I asked Voldemort how it felt, to see your name everywhere you looked? He said it felt fabulous and I believe him. I tried….Debra Mountain House, the Debra Mountains, Debracrest Chalets, watch for fallen Debra…no, it just isn’t feasible. I mean you will be hard pressed to even find a song sung about Debra. One of the only ones I ever found was sung by Beck, who saw Debra shopping in Macy’s (which is, of course, entirely feasible).

As you might have guessed from the title, our second venture out of Cochrane was to Rocky Mountain House. Along the way, we passed Caroline, Alberta which warranted a quick side trip. It is the birthplace of Kurt Browning. Next to shoes, one of my passions is competitive figure skating and although I remember watching Toller Cranston open the floodgates for men’s figure skating and can’t forget the battle of the Brian’s, truly my heart belongs to Kurt. So a quick photo op at the Kurt Browning Arena and we were back on the road.

DSC_0132[1]

One of the joys of this adventure is that we both enjoy driving. It is not the destination that we are focused on but the road that gets us there. This jaunt up Highway 22 was rolling hills and miles of cattle and horse farms. Can you spell peaceful? And by the way….the Tamarack Inn in Rocky Mountain House has some of the best french fries to grease…I mean grace….this earth.

Our next adventure was to Highway 40 towards Nakiska.   We had planned to circle around and back to Cochrane  but Mother nature changed all that.  The highway was closed  as part of the road was washed away by the flood of 2013.   It humbles me…..we build our highways and our cities and feel in control but then a little shake from our world and our efforts come tumbling down.   But the human race is nothing if not tenacious and I am sure our next trip down this highway will find the damage repaired.

DSC_0010[1] nakiska

2 thoughts on “Debra Mountain House

Leave a comment